• Past Event

AI4D Conference: Using Artificial Intelligence to Advance Morocco’s New Development Model

START
Sep. 14, 2022
8:30am UTC 12:30am PST3:30am EST
END
Sep. 15, 2022
4:00pm UTC 8:00am PST11:00am EST
LOCATION
Morocco

Organized by Al Akhawayn University and Engage-AI

Al Akhawayn University in Ifrane is an independent, public, not-for-profit, coeducational Moroccan university committed to educating future citizen-leaders of Morocco and the world through a globally oriented, English-language, liberal-arts curriculum. The University enhances Morocco and engages the world through leading-edge educational and research programs, including continuing and executive education, upholds the highest academic and ethical standards, and promotes equity and social responsibility.

Engage-AI is a pioneering and experimental nonprofit organization working to support the deployment of artificial intelligence / machine learning (AI/ML) as a means of improving lives in diverse communities throughout the world.

Event Overview

The AI4D Conference provided the broad context of how AI is transforming daily life and how it is shaping our concept of what knowledge is, how it is acquired, and how it is used to address society’s most pressing global challenges. The conference also focused on how to underscore local development priorities in health, education, public sectors, and employment in Morocco. Moreover, participants discussed the potential benefits of AI to achieve SDGs 3, 4, 8, and 16 and address the mitigation of potential risks and negative impacts.

AI’s Head of AI, Labor, and the Economy, Katya Klinova spoke at a session on AI as an enabler of the SDGs at the AI4D Conference.

LEARN MORE

PAI Representative

Katya Klinova

Head of AI, Labor and the Economy